51. Is my home exempt?

Under California statutes, the homeowner exemptions are $75,000 for a single person, $100,000 for a married person or head of household and $175,000 for a person 65 years old or older or a disabled person or a person 55 years old or older with an income less than $15,000 or $20,000 if married. This means you can have as much equity in your home as the applicable amount mentioned above before the trustee will consider taking your home and selling it liquidate the excess equity for the benefit of your creditors.

Click for more:

California Bankruptcy Exemptions